Monday, August 31, 2026British Columbia · Canada
BC Times

Analysis

What AI Slideshow Makers for Teachers Actually Cost

Seven AI slide tools aimed at teachers, compared on what they actually cost, what they export, and which ones say anything about student data.

What AI Slideshow Makers for Teachers Actually Cost

Ask a teacher what they do on a Sunday evening and a decent share of the answer involves building slides. The AI tools now marketed at that specific chore have multiplied fast, and their pricing pages have become genuinely difficult to compare: some are free forever, some are free for a week, some are free only if your employer verifies you, and several quote a monthly figure that is only available if you pay for a year up front.

We went through the pricing and product pages of the seven tools that currently rank on Google's first page for teacher-focused AI slide generation and wrote down what a teacher would actually pay, and what they would actually get.

Method

On 31 August 2026 we recorded, from each vendor's own public pricing or product page, four things: whether a genuinely free teacher tier exists (as distinct from a time-limited trial), the lowest published per-user monthly price when billed annually, which export formats are named, and whether the page a teacher lands on says anything about student data. We created no accounts. Where a vendor does not publish a figure, we have recorded that rather than estimating it.

The headline number: of the seven tools, three are free for classroom use with no time limit, and only two say anything about student data on the page a teacher actually reads.

What it costs

Horizontal bar chart of what a teacher pays to start with seven AI slide tools, billed annually: Canva for Education, MagicSchool and Monsha at zero dollars with a genuinely free tier, Slidesgo at three dollars, ChatSlide at eight dollars twenty-five with an education discount, Gamma at nine dollars, and Plus AI at ten dollars with no free tier.

Lowest published entry price per user, per month (USD), billed annually. $0 indicates a genuinely free teacher tier rather than a trial. Source and method: vendor pricing and product pages, checked 31 August 2026.

Tool Free for teachers Entry price (billed annually) Named exports Student data statement on the page
Canva for Education Yes — "100% free" for K-12 $0 Not specified on that page Yes — "Canva never uses student data to train AI models"
MagicSchool Yes — free tier, 80+ tools $0 (Plus $8.33) Not specified on that page Yes — FERPA, COPPA, SOC-2, GDPR, Ed Law 2-D
Monsha Yes — free plan for teachers $0 PowerPoint, PDF, Google Slides No
Slidesgo Limited — 3 AI decks/month $3.00 Not specified on that page No
ChatSlide Free plan $8.25 with .edu discount PDF, PPTX (KEY on higher tiers) No
Gamma Limited — 400 signup credits $9.00 ($108/seat/year) PDF, PPTX, PNG, Google Slides No
Plus AI No — 7-day trial only $10.00 Google Slides, PowerPoint No

The tool ranking first has no free tier

Plus AI is the most visible name in this category — its own blog post on the best AI presentation makers for teachers is among the top results for the query — and it is the only one of the seven with no free tier at all. Every plan "starts with a 7-day free trial with 1,000 AI credits", after which the entry tier is $10 per user per month billed annually, or $15 billed monthly. Its pricing page references use cases "for schools and universities" but lists no education-specific tier.

That is not a criticism of the product, which integrates natively into Google Slides and PowerPoint rather than asking teachers to learn a new editor — a real advantage in a school district that has standardised on one of them. But it inverts what a teacher searching "free AI slideshow maker for teachers" is likely to expect from the first result they click.

The genuinely free options come from elsewhere. Canva for Education commits to remaining "100% free for K-12 (primary and secondary) educators, their students, as well as qualified school districts and institutions", verified by education email or proof of employment, with SSO and district deployment included at no cost. MagicSchool's free tier carries 80+ teacher tools with no time limit. Monsha's free plan for teachers covers AI slide generation, basic themes, and PowerPoint and Google Slides export.

Credits are the thing to read twice

The pricing that trips people up is credit-based rather than seat-based. Gamma's free tier is not a monthly allowance but "400 credits at signup" — a one-time grant. Its paid tiers are denominated the same way: 1,000 monthly credits at $108 per seat per year, 4,000 at $216, 20,000 at $1,080.

Slidesgo is the cheapest published paid entry at $3.00 per month billed annually ($35.99 a year), against $5.99 billed monthly, with a free tier of three AI presentations and three template downloads per month. Its "unlimited" paid tier is capped at 150 per month.

A teacher generating one deck per lesson does not have a "light" workload in credit terms. Before committing to an annual plan, work out roughly how many decks a term actually requires and check it against the allowance, because the difference between tiers in this category is almost never features — it is volume.

Almost nobody mentions student data

This is the finding worth carrying into a staff meeting: on the product or pricing page a teacher actually lands on, only two of seven tools say anything about how student data is handled.

MagicSchool is the most explicit, listing FERPA, COPPA, SOC-2, GDPR and Ed Law 2-D compliance across all plans, describing itself as Common Sense Privacy Certified, and advertising "smart alerts to prevent PII leaks, bias, and factual errors". Canva makes a narrower but pointed commitment: "Canva never uses student data to train AI models."

The other five are silent at that surface. That is not evidence of bad practice — the relevant terms may well sit in a privacy policy or a district agreement a page or two deeper. But it is a meaningful difference in posture. A tool that puts its compliance position on the page it markets to teachers has decided that teachers are the ones who need to see it; a tool that does not has decided the question belongs to procurement. For a teacher piloting something in their own classroom next week, without procurement involved, that distinction matters.

If you are evaluating anything on this list for use with student work, the question to ask is not whether the vendor is compliant but whether you can find the answer in under a minute. For five of these seven, you cannot.

What actually differentiates them

Price aside, the tools split into two groups.

The education-native tools — MagicSchool, Monsha, Canva for Education — are built around the teaching workflow rather than the deck. Monsha reads uploaded lesson materials, pasted text or a YouTube link, then lets you "adjust grade level, Bloom's taxonomy" and translate into 60+ languages, and will generate related worksheets, quizzes and lesson plans from the same slides so the materials stay aligned. That last part is the real time saving, and it is not something a general presentation tool offers.

The general presentation tools — Gamma, Plus AI, Slidesgo, and the broader professional products that also market an AI slideshow maker for teachers — tend to win on output flexibility and export rather than pedagogy. Gamma exports to PDF, PPTX, PNG and Google Slides and imports from PDF and PPTX. Plus AI works inside Google Slides and PowerPoint directly. These matter most where a school has an established format that slides have to fit into.

Neither group is obviously right. A teacher who needs slides that match a departmental template is better served by the second group; a teacher who wants the slides, the worksheet and the quiz to say the same thing is better served by the first.

Frequently asked questions

Is there a genuinely free AI presentation maker for teachers? Yes — three of the seven tools reviewed here. Canva for Education is free for verified K-12 educators with no time limit, MagicSchool offers a free tier with 80+ teacher tools, and Monsha has a free plan covering AI slide generation with PowerPoint and Google Slides export. Note the distinction from a free trial: Plus AI's seven-day trial and Gamma's one-time 400 signup credits both expire.

Can these tools export to Google Slides? Several name it explicitly: Monsha, Gamma and Plus AI all list Google Slides output, with Plus AI working inside Google Slides and PowerPoint directly rather than exporting to them. Others publish PDF and PPTX only, which still opens in Slides but can lose formatting on import.

Can I control the reading level or grade? Monsha is the most specific here, offering grade-level adjustment, Bloom's taxonomy settings, and simplified or extended explanations for students who need either. This is generally a feature of the education-native tools rather than the general presentation tools.

Is student data used to train these models? Only two of the seven address it where a teacher would see it. Canva states plainly that it never uses student data to train AI models, and MagicSchool lists FERPA, COPPA, SOC-2, GDPR and Ed Law 2-D compliance. For the rest, check the privacy policy or ask your district before using them with identifiable student work.